skip to main content

North West Regional College hosts Media Awards at City’s Guildhall

01 April 2019
WEB Inter Media2703197
North West Regional College has hosted this year’s Inter College Media Competition featuring entries from all six of Northern Ireland’s Further and Higher Education colleges. This year, the event, which was held at the historic and iconic Guildhall in Derry~Londonderry, added an extra category garnering entries from a number of post primary schools. Students from North West Regional College, South West College, Northern Regional College, Belfast Met, Southern Regional College, and South Eastern College went head to head in a range of disciplines that included Photography, Ad Production and Moving Image. Winner in the Photography category was Klara Hamill from SRC, NWRC student James Wilkinson claimed top spot in the Ad production Category, first place in Animation went to Belfast Met’s James Dixon; Luke O’Grady from St Columb’s College in Derry picked up the top award in the Post Primary entry; top spot in the Moving Image Fiction category was awarded to Jack Kilpatrick from NWRC, while Belfast Met took first prize again in the Moving Image factual category with Mark Rainey’s Iceland Travel Documentary. The award for Best Performing College on the day was awarded to Belfast Met. The event was compered by BBC presenter Stephen McCauley, and the judges included Mal McCann, Eavan King, Vinny Cunningham and Fionnuala Deane. Special guests included Mayor of Derry and Strabane District Council John Boyle, and film makers Louise Gallagher and Shelly Love. Danny Laverty, Head of Science, Technology and the Creative industries said: “The Media Department is delighted to have been able to host this year’s Inter Colleges Media Competition. “I would like extend my thanks to the students and staff from the other colleges for making the journey to take part. “My warmest congratulations to all of the competitors who took part in this event which showcases the immensely creative work that is being done in our colleges across the sector. “However special congratulations must go to Belfast Met for taking home the award for Best Performing College.” Category Winners Photography 1. Klara Hamill (SRC) 2. Malachy O’Hanlon (SWC) 3. Padraig Connor (Belfast Met) Ad Production 1. James Wilkinson (NRC) 2. PJ Wallace (Belfast Met) 3. Kain McElhinney (NWRC) Animation 1. James Dixon (Belfast Met) 2. Jack Bradshaw (NRC) 3. Chloe Torley (SRC) Post Primary 1. Luke O’Grady (St Columb’s College) 2. Eoghann Mullan (St Joseph’s DERRY) 3. Caoimhe Barr (Holy Cross, Strabane) Moving Image (FICTION) 1. Jack Kilpatrick (NWRC) 2. Ryan Rafferty (Belfast Met) 3. Stephen Parker (SERC) Moving Image (FACTUAL) 1. Mark Rainey (Belfast Met) 2. Leah Rosborough (NWRC) 3. Declan Billington (Belfast Met) Best Performing College 1. Belfast MET
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now